The following article describes EasySend's Co-browsing feature. It describes how to enable it and how to use it.
What is Co-browsing?
(See Figure 1)
Co-browsing is a feature that enables several end-users to use the same digital process link to interact with it at the same time. Co-browsing is usually used by agents to guide customers through a process by providing online assistance and bringing it to a close. The feature is available to use on any type of device such as:
Figure 1: Co-browsing
How Co-browsing works
The following sections describe how the Co-browsing feature works.
There are a lot of usage examples for the Co-browsing feature, the following two examples are very common:
- A customer is filling out information using a digital process and they require assistance. The agent can use the Co-browsing link, track what the customer is doing, and provide online guidance and assistance.
- A customer needs to upload a document that they do not have. They can send an invite to another end-user to upload the relevant file and continue with the process.
Enabling the Feature
(See Figure 2)
A Main Page component contains a built-in Co-browsing checkbox in its Properties section. Using the checkbox you can decide whether to enable or disable the feature. For example:
Figure 2: Main Page Properties Section
- The name of the enable/disable Co-browsing checkbox.
- The location of the checkbox (may appear under an Advanced dropdown).
- The default value of the checkbox (checked/unchecked by default).
Sending a Co-browsing Link
(See Figure 3 and Figure 4)
A Co-browsing link can be sent while interacting with the digital process. A digital process contains an icon for Co-browsing (1).
Figure 3: Co-browsing Icon
After clicking the icon, a window appears. Using the window an end-user will enter the email address (2) of a different end-user that will receive the link for Co-browsing. Clicking OK (3) will send the email.
Figure 4: Email for Co-browsing
(See Figure 5)
A Co-browsing invitation email contains a link (1) to the digital process.
Figure 5: Co-browsing Invitation Email
The link will stay active as long as the process was not:
Interacting with The Process
After clicking the link the process will open displaying the same page that a request for Co-browsing was initiated from.
Data input by one end-user will immediately appear on the screen of the other end-user. When navigating between pages, they simultaneously change for both end-users. Once the process is submitted, the link will no longer be valid for all end-users involved.
The following sections describe Co-browsing permissions
Roles and Permissions in EasySend
(See Figure 6 and Figure 7)
In some cases, one digital process can be accessed by different end-users with specific roles, for example:
Figure 6: Roles
We can provide access permissions for each role:
Access permissions allow us to manage how roles interact with the digital process, for example:
- A customer will receive full access permissions to all the pages that require them to input information
- A page that contains information just for the spouse will be hidden from the customer and the agent
- An agent that needs to review the information input by the customer and the spouse will receive readonly permissions for the relevant page pages
Figure 7: Access Permissions
Applying Role Permissions for Co-browsing
(See Figure 8)
We can apply the same principles of role permissions when using the Co-browsing feature. To do so, we need to create a new communication output, email, or SMS, click the Advanced dropdown (1) and then Conditions (2). Under Conditions, we will locate the Co-browsing dropdown (3).
The default value the dropdown displays is No Override (4) meaning that the end-user that accessed the digital process using a Co-browsing invitation will receive full access permissions. When clicking the dropdown a list of roles (5) appears. Choosing any one of the roles will override the full access permissions to those associated with the selected role.
Figure 8: Co-browsing permissions